Henderson State University

The second event in celebration of Underwater Panther this fall is tomorrow at Henderson State University in Arkadelphia.

Kathy Strause 095.jpgWhen my book went into production, my editor Susan Swartwout gave me the chance to choose the image for the cover, and I immediately thought of the work of my former colleague Katherine Strause. Kathy invited me to look through her pieces to see what we might use, and in time we settled on Bow and Arrow. I’ve come to realize, in part as I reflected on what drew me to this piece, that this book is the story of a woman taking aim.

Kathy and I wanted to keep the good stuff going, so last winter, I sent her the first poem from each section of the book as well as its first poem, and her painting students used them as inspiration for six pieces.

So Kathy is going to display those paintings, and I’m going to share those poems. She will display bring some of her own paintings as well, as will another artist Tricia Baar, who will share her paintings and poetry.

With thanks to another artist Marck Beggs and the HSU Ellis College Margin of Excellence, this Poetry & Painting Coffeehouse will take place at 6 p.m., Tuesday, September 13, on the Arkansas Hall Main Stage.

 

 

 

