Nasty Woman comes to Little Rock

This March, my work was part of the Nasty Woman Show at Henderson State University, and thanks to Margo Duvall and the University of Arkansas, this summer the exhibit has moved to Little Rock.

When I posted about the show at HSU, I mentioned the Us-versus-the-Other environment that was troubling me. It has only seemed to continue to intensify, and with newfound challenges facing my family, I’m struggling to understand the ground, much less keep my feet on it.

To be in a place full of very different pieces of art by very different artists helps center me again, not because my work is on the walls, although that of course is great, but because it reminds me of all the mirrors and hammers art gives us. This show might move you in a way you need as well.

You can find the exhibit in Gallery I and the Maners/Pappas Gallery in the Fine Arts Building at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. It opened yesterday, June 14, and runs through August 25. Summer gallery hours are 9 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday (except university holidays). Free and open to the public.

 

